eARC Review: The Navigator’s Touch by Julia Ember

39078738Summary: After invaders destroyed her village, murdered her family, and took her prisoner, shield-maiden Ragna is hungry for revenge. A trained warrior, she is ready to fight for her home, but with only a mermaid and a crew of disloyal mercenaries to aid her, Ragna knows she needs new allies. Guided by the magical maps on her skin, battling storms and mutiny, Ragna sets sail across the Northern Sea.

She petitions the Jarl in Skjordal for aid, but despite Ragna’s rank and fighting ability, the Jarl sees only a young girl, too inexperienced to lead, unworthy of help. To prove herself to the Jarl and win her crew’s respect, Ragna undertakes a dangerous expedition. But when forced to decide between her own freedom and the fate of her crew, what will she sacrifice to save what’s left of her home?

Rating: ★★★☆☆

Release date: 13th September 2018

Rep: sapphic mc, f/f romance

I received an arc from the publisher via netgalley in exchange for an honest review 


The Navigator’s Touch is the sequel to The Seafarer’s Kiss, following a pirate with the element of Norse mythology. I read The Seafarer’s Kiss last year and I liked it enough, though it wasn’t my favourite.

So, pirate books and me tend to not get along. I don’t know what it is about them but I have trouble enjoying them, and I didn’t know this was a pirate book going in.

I would say that this book was only okay for me. The plot was interesting but I wasn’t on the edge of my seat.

I kind of don’t get why this book exists. It feels like a companion because it’s from someone else’s point of view, but it also feels like a sequel. But it doesn’t really work as either. The previous book ended in a way that there could be more story to tell but it doesn’t feel like the story you would’ve expected. The story of this almost felt out of place.

I did like Ragna as a character and it was cool to see more of her and her backstory. But I didn’t really love this, and nothing happened for the most part. It was only okay.

One thought on “eARC Review: The Navigator’s Touch by Julia Ember

Leave a comment